The name “Booterstown” is an anglicized type of the first Irish name Baile a Bhóthair, signifying “The Town of the Road”. In its unique Irish shape it has an indistinguishable name from Batterstown in County Meath, and additionally Ballinvoher in Kilkenny, Cork, Kerry, Limerick, Longford and Mayo.
Booterstown lies along an antiquated course once known as Slíghe Chualann, which associated the living arrangement of the High King of Ireland at Tara with his distant terrains in Cualann. Cualann is the old name for the territory of land extending towards Bray (Irish: Brí Chualann).
The Congregation of the Irish Christian Brothers had their base camp at St. Helen’s, Booterstown from 1925 to 1988. St. Helen’s was worked in 1760 for Thomas Cooley, MP and was referred to initially as Seamount. It was broadly restored a century later while in the responsibility for Gough, Field Marshal of the British Army, whose spouse Marie Frances opened the greenery enclosures to general society. The house is currently a lodging of The Radisson Group.
Booterstown still holds its connection with the name Tara, as the Tara Towers lodging was worked there in the 1970s is as yet a point of interest today on the Merrion Road, by the recorded Bellevue Merrion Cemetery.